Punk Charming Mixtape: The Chapter List Video

In an earlier post, I talked about my new fascination with making Powtoons videos. So, I figured it was time to make a video of the song titles that introduce the chapters of Punk Charming – you can see it on YouTube.

Punk Charming Chapter List

I was working on it fairly late one night, so I waited until morning to do a final proof. I awoke to the shocking news of the passing of David Bowie. Yes, shock. Sure, other celebrities have passed in my lifetime, but none that seemed so much larger than life. I mean, this is (I simply refuse to say “was”)David Bowie! I fell in love with his music when I was in middle school and swooned when Labyrinth came out. His birthday is the day before mine, and I was thrilled to see the release of Blackstar that day. So, shock times infinity.

Bowie was the first artist on my chapter song list, for the duet with Mick Jagger on “Dancing in the Streets”. That song opens my book – right there, on Chapter 1. Out of respect, I waited several days to publish my video (unlike other opportunistic ventures, such as the rumored reboot of Labyrinth – shameful!). It still seems unbelievable to me that we now live in a world without Bowie, well at least without his physical presence. His effect on music, films, literature, fashion, individuality, and so many, many other aspects upon which Bowie shone his light, lives on forever.

Still, it gave me pause to think about other music icons and their blasted mortal coil. Someone tweeted that John Taylor (of my absolute favorite band and eternal muse, Duran Duran) said in an interview he didn’t know how many more albums the band would produce. Ack! These are the times that I feel my age so severely. Otherwise, I can go on with my delusion that nothing much has changed since my school days. Forget the mortgage, hair dye and occasional need for muscle relaxers. I suppose that’s why some people my age jump ship and start following younger artists, but I’m going to stick it out with my idols. Duran Duran still look amazing, and I tell myself they will continue putting out albums and touring forever, and I’ll always buy them and scream at their concerts like I did a few years (decades) ago when I was a teenager.

On a much brighter note, here is the list of songs that introduce Punk Charming’s chapters. Warning – these are highly likely to cause you to spontaneously sing along (even if you don’t quite remember all the words). That’s the eternal power of 80s music!

Cheers!

Chapter 1 David Bowie and Mick Jagger, “Dancing in the Streets”
Chapter 2 Billy Ocean, “When The Going Gets Tough, the Tough Get Going”
Chapter 3 Madonna, “Live To Tell”
Chapter 4 Pet Shop Boys, “Love Comes Quickly”
Chapter 5 Erasure, “Oh L’ amour”
Chapter 6 Genesis, “Invisible Touch”
Chapter 7 Bananarama, “Venus”
Chapter 8 Arcadia, “The Flame”
Chapter 9 The Communards, “Don’t Leave Me This Way”
Chapter 10 Rick Astley, “Never Gonna Give You Up”
Chapter 11 Right Said Fred, “Deeply Dippy”
Chapter 12 Duran Duran, “Come Undone”
Chapter 13 Bryan Adams, Rod Stewart, Sting, “All For Love”
Chapter 14 Madonna, “Ray of Light”
Chapter 15 Train, “Drops of Jupiter”
Chapter 16 Kylie Minogue, “Can’t Get You Out of My Head”
Chapter 17 Madonna, “American Life”
Chapter 18 Moby, “We Are All Made Of Stars”
Chapter 19 Linkin Park, “Somewhere I Belong”
Chapter 20 Matchbox Twenty, “Unwell”
Chapter 21 30 Seconds to Mars, “Edge of the Earth”
Chapter 22 George Michael, “Amazing”
Chapter 23 Alicia Keys, “If I Ain’t Got You”
Chapter 24 Scissor Sisters, “It Can’t Come Quickly Enough”
Chapter 25 Elton John, “Are You Ready for Love?”
Chapter 26 Robbie Williams, “Something Beautiful”
Chapter 27 Duran Duran, “(Reach Up for The) Sunrise”
Leave a Reply

